Tuesday, June 14, 2016

Trio of Lockport Express Players Make College Commitments

Three Lockport Express players have made commitments to play college hockey in the past few days. Anthony Merante, Daniel Golba, and Ryan Logar have announced their intentions to play hockey for various college programs. The three players were teammate on the inaugural 2014-2015 team, with Logar playing a second year this past season.

Anthony Merante will be playing at SUNY Potsdam (Division 3). According to Express general manager, Frank Vecchio, "Anthony Merante is as reliable a hockey player as I have ever coached. He plays in all situations, sees the ice extremely well, has great anticipation, and is an outstanding teammate. SUNY Potsdam is getting a heck of a player and person."

Daniel Golba will be attending the University of Wisconsin-Superior where he will be a part of the Division 3 hockey team. After spending the 2014-2015 as part of the Lockport Express, Golba played for the Powassan Voodoo in Ontario, Canada. He accumulated 40 points on the strength of 14 goals and 26 assists.

Vecchio said of Golba, "He is an outstanding competitor who brings it every shift. He is tough to play against and plays a real hard game. He is not afraid of the dirty ares and, in fact, excels in them. University of Wisconsin-Superior will love what he brings to the program."

Rounding out the trio, Ryan Logar has committed to playing for Canisus College in Buffalo on their ACHA Division 1 team. Logar led the Express in scoring for the 2015-2016 season with 57 points in 41 games (25 goals, 32 assists).

“Ryan is a fierce competitor who brings passion and energy to every game.  He helped put our program on the map by playing for us in our very first season as well as this past season.  He will be an asset to not only the Canisuis program but the college as well and we wish him the best," said Vecchio.

The Lockport Express play Junior A Hockey in the NA3HL. Other college commitments involving Express players include Jake Burford, Frank Vecchio II, Christopher Gasiewicz, and Sal Stalteri.